Learnerships > Roleplayers


National Skills Authority (NSA)
Stakeholder members represent organized labour, organized business, the community, government, education and training providers, experts on employment services, and SAQA. The National Skills Development Strategy objectives (2011 – 2016) and targets are agreed by the NSA, and Sector Education and Training Authorities (SETAs) are required to achieve these targets.

South African Qualification Authority (SAQA)
SAQA is responsible for the establishment and implementation of the National Qualifications Framework (NQF) policy and criteria for registering qualifications on the NQF. . To achieve this they are tasked to register qualifications and standards on the NQF and to ensure that the education and training that is delivered assists learners to achieve these qualifications and standards through quality assurance.

Education and Training Quality Assurance Bodies (ETQAs) (Also refer to ETQA page)
SAQA approves institutions as ETQAs. Each ETQA is recognized to check qualifications and standards within a particular sector or type of education and training. The ETQA accredits providers and certificate learners who achieve the required standards and qualifications. Quality assurance includes ensuring that there are assessors who can see that the standards are met. Assessors play a very important role and are registered by the relevant ETQAs.

Quality Council for Trades and Occupations (QCTO)
The QCTO has been established in terms of the NQF Act of 2008 its responsibilities are to:
  • Establish and maintain occupational standards and occupational qualification.
  • Developing and managing the Occupational Qualifications Sub-Framework. Submitting occupational qualifications to SAQA for registration on the NQF,
  • Being an advocate on matters relating to OQSF,
  • Ensuring quality provision of occupational standards and occupational qualification and learning in and for the workplace.
The QCTO makes use of Quality Partners which include the SETAs, and the currently quality assurance Bodies. These partners will complete the measuring, evaluation, monitoring and reporting done by QCTO through delivery of curriculum and the implementation of external assessment. Implementation of all training will be done by an accredited skills development provider.

Department of High Education and Training (DHET)
The Department of High Education and Training evaluates and registers Learnerships. (Refer website www.dhet.gov.za). The Department of Higher Education and Training also provides a service to help employers find and choose unemployed learners, guided by the Skills Development Act.

Sector Education and Training Authority (SETAs)
SETAs role with regard to learnerships can be regarded as follows:
  • Register Learnerships with DHET. Only SETAs are allowed to apply for the registration of Learnerships with DHET
  • Facilitate, manage and quality assures the design, development and implementation of Learnerships
  • Subsidises the cost of designing, developing and implementation of Learnerships
SETAs have the following obligations:
  • In the performance of its ETQA functions SETAS accredit and monitor performance quality of the training provider
  • Prescribe the format for the Learnership Agreement and the procedures for the registration of these with the SETA
  • Keep records of registered Learnership Agreements
  • Keep records of qualification or credit attainment
  • Create a link between the learner and the Department of High Education and Training. Oversee the implementation of Learnerships
  • Issue certificates to successful learners through its Education and Training Quality Assurance body
  • Establish procedures and mechanisms to terminate a Learnership Agreement
  • Ensure relevance of qualifications
  • Attempt to reconcile any disputes arising out of the Learnership Agreement
  • Provide relevant authorities with records of learnerships entered into in the economic sector and particular industry
  • Monitor and enforce applicable Labour legislation
According to the Skills Development Act SETAs must promote learnerships by:
  • Identifying workplaces for practical work experience
  • Supporting the development of learning materials
  • Improving the facilitation of learning
  • Assisting in the conclusion of Learnership Agreements

The participating employers employ the learners (contractually), and ensure that while they are working the application of learning is integrated and structured. They play a role in assessing the learners. The employer has the responsibility to identify and train workplace assessors and mentors.

Skills Development Providers
Accredited skills development providers are required to design the learning programme and curriculum and in some instances will design and produce the learning materials. This must be in line with the requirements of the structured workplace learning. (ETQA requirements)

Learners on learning programmes learn through attending training at the provider and receive on-the-job training at the employer. As per the agreed Learnership, Skills Programme or Internship Agreement signed by all parties

Learners (18.1) who are permanently employed remain on their existing employment contracts. Unemployed learners (18.2) sign an employment contract based on the BCEA - Sectoral Determination No. 5.

Print  | Top | Back  
Copyright (c) 2018 MICT | Best viewed in a 1360 x 768 screen resolution | Sitemap | Disclaimer